Crossing borders

552 days ago the sun pummelled me into submission as I exited a decidedly untrustworthy plane into the gloriously oppressive Aceh heat.  Sensory assaults battered me from all directions; pungent spices, unrelenting babble and eye-achingly bright colours fought for my attention.  The French reporter I’d met at check in wished me luck and I tried my best not to stumble over my tongue with my faltering response.  At this tail end of a 48 hour fest of in-flight entertainment and tours of numerous airports I was overcome with the richness of this new world. Exploring it would just have to wait until tomorrow though – many tomorrows in this place I was to call home stretched before me.  Already I could see it had been pointless imagining how life here in this stricken paradise would be.  It was time to erase any expectations and set out to communicate and explore.  What adventures were waiting for me in this new life as an NGO employee?

552 minutes ago I left the Royal Academy of Engineering, freshly inducted onto the Ingenious Women program, wishing the media advice and enthusiastic support I’ve just been bombarded with had been predated by 553 days.  I’m very fortunate to have been given the opportunity to participate in this UKRC project, which aims to develop my communication skills giving me a portal to disseminate my enthusiasm for engineering.  I have the story of Indonesia, which I’m desperate to share.  Yet daily my exposure is expanding ever further.  Here, in this place to dump my brain, I intend to weave the two together similarly to how my experiences of time away influence my current reflections.

So commences this foray into blogging, 552 days late but not a moment too soon…

About @ngela

Unexpected Consequences is a blog by Angela Crowther, a young engineer working in the Built Environment. Currently supported by the Royal Academy of Engineering and UKRC's Ingenious program the blog’s aim is to raise awareness of all the exciting opportunities the world of engineering has to offer to hopefully stimulate others into joining the industry.
This entry was posted in Storytelling, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

