No such thing as a free lunch!

A friend and I were astonished to hear security bandying around code words at a recent Royal Academy of Engineering evening lecture.  Was something exciting happening? Who was in the building?  Well, apparently they were warning each other that the freeganers had landed; people who turn up for the final ten minutes of a lecture and then swoop on the canapés!  I couldn’t believe this was a real pastime; I mean, I know my university track record for time keeping wasn’t great and in true student style I continue to love free food, but I’m sure I could never have been mistaken for a freeganer!

Despite initial disbelief, I’ve since been wondering if this could be a sustainable model – engineers are facing hard times after all!  The catch is, I love to learn so wouldn’t be able to survive on only ten minutes of cranial nourishment!  As a compromise, I propose a month of evening lectures as sustenance.  Whether or not the food is good, at the very least I’ll be feeding my brain!

So, I need your suggestions:  London lectures and events for me to attend and blog about in December.  The more absurd the better; if I’m going to try freeganing better to do it outside the box so I don’t actually get mistaken for homeless…

About @ngela

Unexpected Consequences is a blog by Angela Crowther, a young engineer working in the Built Environment. Currently supported by the Royal Academy of Engineering and UKRC's Ingenious program the blog’s aim is to raise awareness of all the exciting opportunities the world of engineering has to offer to hopefully stimulate others into joining the industry.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to No such thing as a free lunch!

  1. Ben says:

    I like it! Please keep us up to date with your successes, or where else your getting your free grub from! – im not homeless, I promise, just interested how resourceful one can be in these difficult times, and how many companies/institutions are providing canapés after talks (I presume they are to encourage people to network afterwards and for them to benefit somehow, if not why waste the money?).

Leave a Reply

